Mozart: The Old City String Quartet on Blu-ray

Winner of the 2010 Gold Medal at the Fischoff Chamber Music Competition, this energetic quartet, along with its talented young guest soloists, performs some of Mozart’s best-known chamber works, including the Clarinet Quintet.


Dolby TrueHD Lossless Audio

Experience the full potential of Blu-ray™ with Dolby® TrueHD, a lossless audio format with support for up to 7.1 channels of dramatic high-definition (HD) surround sound.

Dolby TrueHD >

The Players

Ruokai Chen, Camden Shaw, Bryan Lee, Milena Pajaro van de Stadt, Joel Link, and Corey Klein.
Ruokai Chen, Camden Shaw, Bryan Lee, Milena Pajaro va de Stadt and Corey Klein

Joel Link, Violinist

The quartet is made up of recent graduates of the prestigious Curtis Institute of Music.
Don Heffington

Milena Pajaro van de Stadt

The violist has played with Old City String Quartet since 2008.
Milena Pajaro va de Stad

Mozart: The Old City String Quartet

This young group, which performs Mozart's Clarinet Quintet K. 581, Horn Quintet K. 407, and String Quartet K. 169, is made up of recent graduates of the distinguished Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia. Their youth and energy are wonderfully captured in this groundbreaking 3D production, one of the first classical projects for Blu-ray 3D.

The quartet is joined by fellow classmates Ruokai Chen (clarinet) and Corey Klein (horn). They are featured in the well-known Clarinet Quintet and the virtuosic Horn Quintet.

Mozart's music is familiar to most music lovers and, although extremely accessible, is full of compelling harmonic and compositional intricacies. Imagine the experience of being close to the instrumentalists when listening to the 5.1 "stage" mix, or switch to the traditional HD audio 2-channel stereo mix and revel in the detail that AIX Records® is famous for.

This disc was shot using 3D cameras and is a compliant Blu-ray 3D disc but is completely compatible with 2D HDTVs and audio playback equipment.