San Francisco Symphony on Blu-ray with Dolby TrueHD

The San Francisco Symphony Turns 100

Experience the San Francisco Symphony’s spectacular 2011 Centennial Opening Night Gala program on Blu-ray Disc™, featuring Itzhak Perlman playing Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto. 

Other works in the gala program are Aaron Copland’s Billy the Kid Ballet Suite, Benjamin Britten’s The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra, and John Adams’s Short Ride in a Fast Machine.

Also on the disc is the exciting new documentary San Francisco Symphony at 100, narrated by Amy Tan, that tells the story of how a handful of civic-minded music lovers helped rebuild and revitalize one of the world’s most beloved cities following the earthquake and fire of 1906 by creating an orchestra for the people.

The documentary includes subtitles in English, Spanish, and simplified and traditional Chinese.

Visit the San Francisco Symphony store to buy the Blu-ray Disc.

Dolby TrueHD with Advanced 96k Upsampling

Dolby® TrueHD is a 100 percent lossless audio format that ensures you’ll experience movies and music that are identical to the studio masters, soundstage mixes, or concert recordings.

Advanced 96k upsampling provides an enhanced Blu-ray™ listening experience for movies, music, and television programming originally captured in 48k.

Benefits of Dolby TrueHD

Reproduces 100 percent lossless audio that is bit-for-bit identical to the studio master, so you hear the music, movie, or TV show just as its creators intended

Delivers up to 7.1-channel playback for the most realistic Blu-ray audio experience available from your home theater

Supports up to 16 discrete channels and offers expandability to accommodate more channels in the future

The Experience

Experience the full potential of Blu-ray audio in your living room with Dolby TrueHD.